A Website For Territories Not Covered by FIFA

FIFA is today composed by 211 football associations, each one representing a defined torritory.

The number of FIFA member associations is higher than the number of UN member states as FIFA has admitted associations from 25 non-sovereign entities as members in their own right.

Excluding the four Home Nations1, for which their inclusion in FIFA is due to historical sport and political reasons, it is still not clear why other territories with same status are not been admitted yet, and often their association request it is been rejected.

In fact, following exactly the same criterias for which these 21 territories2 are been admitted to FIFA there would be other 45 to add. This criteria of inclusion of sovereign states and dependent territories of the world could be summarized as follows:

  1. by association within the United Nations system, as member or observer states;
  2. by other states, with limited recognition and associated states not members of the UN, partially recognised de facto sovereign states without UN membership, and de facto sovereign states lacking general international recognition;
  3. by dependent territories of other UN member states, then non-sovereign territories that are recognized by the UN as associated or as part of some member state, dependent territories, special territories recognized by international treaty, and other territories often regarded as separate geographical territories even though they are integral parts of their mother countries.

Ironically, 12 of them are or were been admitted to continental confederations, such as AFC3, CAF4, CONCACAF5 and OFC6. There would be to add also another exception, Zanzibar, which is admitted to CAF again due to historical sport and political reasons, which again we will not consider.

The purpose of this website is to list these “missed” territories and to give also an overview to the whole Non-FIFA scene.

Said brifly, we want FIFA with 256 football association members!

1 England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales.
2 Anguilla, American Samoa, Aruba, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Cook Islands, Curaçao, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Guam, Hong Kong, Kosovo, Macau, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Puerto Rico, Tahiti (French Polynesia), Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands.
3 Northern Mariana Islands.
4 Réunion.
5 Bonaire, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Martin, Sint Maarten.
6 Kiribati, Niue, Palau, Tuvalu.